Random Quotes from Bhagavad Gita – Part 2

In Random Quotes from Bhagvad Gita, I tried to give an introduction to Gita and posted few inspiring quotes.   However, it was just impossible to cover so many gtreat quotes in a single post. So I am posting the second installation. These quotes from Arjun depict the self doubt and his inner battel for trying to distinguish right from wrong.
As we know, Gita is a grand conversation between warrior prince Arjuna and Krishna (Lord himself in human incarnation). Here I am trying to post quotation from Arjuna. The conversation shows the helplessness and doubts which paralyzed Arjuna from performing his Karma (Actions).

I will post the response from Krishna in a the next installation of the series.

Arjuna Quotes:

My dear Krishna, seeing my friends and relatives present before me in such a fighting spirit, I feel the limbs of my body quivering and my mouth drying up.

My whole body is trembling, and my hair is standing on end. My bow “Gandiva” is slipping from my hand, and my skin is burning.

I am now unable to stand here any longer. I am forgetting myself, and my mind is reeling. I foresee only evil, O Krishna.

I do not see how any good can come from killing my own kinsmen in this battle, nor can I, my dear Krishna, desire any subsequent victory, kingdom, or happiness.

O Govinda (Krishna), of what avail to us are kingdoms, happiness or even life itself when all those for whom we may desire them are now arrayed in this battlefield? O Madhusudana (Krishna), when teachers, fathers, sons, grandfathers, maternal uncles, fathers-in-law, grandsons, brothers-in-law and all relatives are ready to give up their lives and properties and are standing before me, then why should I wish to kill them, though I may survive? O maintainer of all creatures, I am not prepared to fight with them even in exchange for the three worlds, let alone this earth.

“O Janardana (Krishna), although these men, overtaken by greed, see no fault in killing one’s family or quarreling with friends, why should we, with knowledge of the sin, engage in these acts?”

Alas, how strange it is that we are preparing to commit greatly sinful acts, driven by the desire to enjoy royal happiness.”

“I would consider it better for the sons of Dhrtarastra to kill me unarmed and unresisting, rather than to fight with them.”

“Arjuna, having thus spoken on the battlefield, cast aside his bow and arrows and sat down on the chariot, his mind overwhelmed with grief.”

“how can I counterattack with arrows in battle men like Bhisma and Drona, who are worthy of my worship?

It is better to live in this world by begging than to live at the cost of the lives of great souls who are my teachers. Even though they are avaricious, they are nonetheless superiors. If they are killed, our spoils will be tainted with blood.

Nor do we know which is better–conquering them or being conquered by them. The sons of Dhrtarastra, whom if we kill we should not care to live, are now standing before us on this battlefield.

Now I am confused about my duty and have lost all composure because of weakness. In this condition I am asking You to tell me clearly what is best for me. Now I am Your disciple, and a soul surrendered unto You. Please instruct me.

I can find no means to drive away this grief which is drying up my senses. I will not be able to destroy it even if I win an unrivaled kingdom on earth with sovereignty like the demigods in heaven.

 

In the next chapter of Gita’s quotes, we will see how Krishna responds to these questions.

Source of quotation – http://www.asitis.com/

One comment on “Random Quotes from Bhagavad Gita – Part 2

Leave a Reply

